Governance


The Tri-agency Institutional Programs Secretariat (TIPS), which is housed within the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC), is responsible for the day-to-day administration of the Research Support Fund, including:

  • determining the eligibility of Canadian postsecondary institutions to apply to the fund;
  • administering the financial and reporting aspects of the fund;
  • assessing the fund’s performance; and
  • conducting evaluations and management audits (through SSHRC’s Corporate Performance and Evaluation Division).

Reporting structure

TIPS reports to the management committee of the program, which in turn reports to the program’s steering committee. The steering committee reports to the minister of Science and Sport, the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat and, ultimately, the Parliament of Canada.

Management committee

The management committee is responsible for providing advice concerning the operational management of the Research Support Fund. It is composed of the associate vice-president of TIPS and representatives, at the vice-president level, of the five partner organizations: the Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), SSHRC, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, and Health Canada.

Steering committee

A steering committee oversees the management of the RSF at a strategic level. This committee is made up of the presidents of the three federal granting agencies (CIHR, NSERC and SSHRC), the president of the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI), the deputy minister for Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (or designated replacement) and the deputy minister for Health Canada (or designated replacement).

The current steering committee members are:

Ted Hewitt (Chair)
President, SSHRC

Alejandro Adem
President, NSERC

Simon Kennedy
Deputy Minister, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Stephen Lucas
Deputy Minister, Health Canada

Roseann O’Reilly Runte
President and CEO, CFI

Michael Strong
President, CIHR

Gouvernance


Le Secrétariat des programmes interorganismes à l’intention des établissements (SPIIE) des chaires, qui partage les locaux du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH), est responsable de l’administration quotidienne du Fonds de soutien à la recherche, y compris les responsabilités suivantes :

  • déterminer l’admissibilité des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire canadiens qui font une demande auprès du Fonds de soutien à la recherche;
  • gérer le financement et la reddition de comptes dans le cadre du Fonds de soutien à la recherche;
  • évaluer le rendement du Fonds de soutien à la recherche;
  • réaliser des évaluations et des vérifications de haut niveau (par l’entremise de la Division de la stratégie et du rendement organisationnels du CRSH).

Structure hiérarchique

Le SPIIE relève du Comité de gestion du Fond, qui lui relève du Comité directeur du Fond. Le Comité directeur relève du ministre des Sciences, du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada et, en dernier ressort, du Parlement du Canada.

Comité de gestion

Le Comité de gestion est responsable de la prestation de conseils concernant la gestion fonctionnelle du Fonds de soutien à la recherche et relève du Comité directeur. Il est formé de la directrice exécutive du Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada et de vice-présidents des cinq organismes partenaires : les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie (CRSNG), le CRSH, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada et Santé Canada.

Comité directeur

Un comité directeur surveille la gestion du Fonds de soutien à la recherche à un niveau stratégique. Ce comité est constitué des dirigeants des trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux (IRSC, CRSNG et CRSH), du sous-ministre d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ou un remplaçant désigné) et du sous-ministre de Santé Canada (ou un remplaçant désigné).

Les membres actuels du Comité directeur sont les suivants :