Financial Administration Guide


This guide outlines the terms and conditions for administering funds from the Research Support Fund (RSF), including Incremental Project grants (IPGs).

On this page



Top

Institutional contacts

The Tri-agency Institutional Programs Secretariat (TIPS) keeps institutions informed by sending program information and updates to the official contacts on the institutions’ Convergence account. To update your institution’s official RSF contacts on Convergence, the senior official may email the request, including the person’s full name, job title, email, and requested role (RSF senior official or RSF delegate), to information@rsf-fsr.gc.ca. Your institution must ensure this contact information is up to date and complete.


Top

Responsibilities and accountability

RSF grants are awarded to eligible institutions to help pay for a portion of the indirect costs to support federally funded research. These are costs that institutions incur that are not attributable to specific research projects, such as central and departmental administrative costs. For more information on direct research costs, please consult the Tri-Agency Guide on Financial Administration.

Your institution must use grant funds for the purpose for which they were awarded and in accordance with the policies and guidelines of the program and your institution.

The funds must be used effectively and economically, and the expenses must be essential to support the institution’s federally funded research enterprise.

Funding from the program must add to, and not displace, any other research support funds that your institution has received from the provincial government, private sector or other federal sources.

Grants may be used to cover new expenditures, to maintain the current level of services to and support of an institution’s research environment, and to make improvements, innovations and efficiencies in its management.

TIPS and the Research Support Fund

TIPS verifies your institution’s eligibility and entitlement to the grant in accordance with federal laws and policies regarding grants.

  • TIPS makes payments through SSHRC’s finance division.
  • All instalment payments are subject to parliamentary appropriations and the conditions that may be attached to them. The three research funding agencies (the Canadian Institutes of Health Research [CIHR], the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council [NSERC] and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council [SSHRC]) and the RSF reserve the right to defer or suspend subsequent instalment payments if the parliamentary appropriations are reduced or cancelled.

The institution

The grant is administered through your institution according to the terms of the Agreement on the Administration of Agency Grants and Awards by Research Institutions.

  • Your institution must have in place appropriate procedures, systems and controls to ensure that program policies and requirements are followed. Administrative, personnel and accounting procedures must conform to the standards, practices and policies of your institution.
  • When appropriate, your institution should seek advice or a ruling from TIPS about whether expenses are eligible.
  • The grantee, normally the institution’s president, principal or rector, authorizes expenditures from the grant account in accordance with program guidelines. The grantee may delegate the authorization of expenditures to a small number of individuals.
  • The institution must open a separate account for the grant, and must clearly record all payments made to and from the account, and group them by the five expenditure categories.

Your institution must authorize expenditures in accordance with program policies and requirements, as outlined in this Financial Administration Guide. No one may initiate or authorize expenditures from the grant account without your institution’s delegated authority.


Top

Continuing eligibility

To comply with government policy, the RSF program confirms that your institution’s continues to be eligible each year before releasing new grant funds. Your institution must confirm that it continues to be eligible for funds at the grant application stage by agreeing to the Terms and conditions upon submitting its application.


Top

Financial monitoring of accounts

Representatives of the federal research funding agencies (CIHR, NSERC and SSHRC) and TIPS will periodically review the institution’s financial administration to:

  • assess whether your institution has the necessary financial/administrative tools to manage its grant properly and effectively;
  • review the effectiveness of procedures, systems and controls at the institution to ensure that agency and program policies and requirements are followed and that program funds are well managed;
  • review expenditures from the account to ensure that these were made in accordance with the established policies and requirements and for the purpose intended (institutions must be prepared to provide full supporting documentation for all expenses charged to the grant); and
  • share and disseminate information on policies, requirements and expectations for financial accountability.

Top

Non-compliance

Grantees (and their affiliates) are responsible for using grant funds in accordance with the policies of the federal research funding agencies (CIHR, NSERC and SSHRC), including this guide, and for providing true, complete and accurate information on documentation for expenditures from the grant account.

The following would be considered breaches in compliance:

  • using grant funds for purposes inconsistent with the policies of the funding agencies;
  • misappropriating grant funds;
  • contravening funding agency financial policies (in this guide); or
  • providing incomplete, inaccurate or false information on documentation for expenditures from the grant account.

For information on how the funding agencies address allegations of breaches, refer to the Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research (section 6.1). The funding agencies regard as misconduct any action that is inconsistent with integrity and ethics, as defined in this framework.

Matters involving financial mismanagement, where there is evidence of fraud or other unlawful activity, are referred to the appropriate authorities as per the Treasury Board Directive on Public Money and Receivables.


Top

Suspension or termination of a grant

The TIPS Steering Committee reserves the right to suspend or terminate a grant if an institution no longer meets the eligibility criteria or the accountability, public acknowledgment or reporting requirements of the program. It also reserves the right to recover funds paid out if an institution no longer fulfils the required eligibility criteria, or if the funds were paid on the basis of fraudulent or inaccurate information.


Top

Public acknowledgment

There are varying accountability and public acknowledgment requirements for institutions that receive support from RSF, including from its IPG stream. These requirements vary depending on the value of the grant received. Your institution must ensure it meets the applicable requirements during the three stages of the program’s lifecycle: grant application stage, grant period, and end of the grant period. Your institutions is required to keep its accountability and public acknowledgment information for the RSF (organized by fiscal year) on your website(s) for a minimum of five years. The details regarding these requirements are described on the accountability and public acknowledgment requirements page.

If your institution fails to meet these requirements, you will forfeit grant funds or have your payments suspended. Failure to meet the requirements may also affect an institution’s eligibility for future RSF grants and IPGs. Your institution must continue to meet the program’s accountability and public acknowledgment requirements during the grant period in order to remain eligible for the program.


Top

Reporting requirements

Your institution must submit an annual outcomes report on how the grant was used and managed.

TIPS will suspend payments to any institution that does not fulfil its reporting requirements. If your institution fails to submit its report, it will not be eligible for the program in the following grant year.


Top

Affiliated organization agreements

There are two kinds of affiliated organizations for RSF purposes: health research affiliates and other research affiliates. Institutions must have formal and valid agreements in place with each of their health research affiliates. For other types of affiliates, the institution and the affiliate can choose whether to have a formal agreement in place. However, if the applicant institution (i.e., the grantee) transfers funds to an affiliate, a formal agreement must be in place before the funds are transferred.

Note: TIPS reserves the right to request a copy of these agreements at any time.

Content of affiliate agreements

At a minimum, agreements must include:

  • the nature of the relationship between the applicant institution and the affiliate. Applicant institutions often provide a variety of support services to researchers located at affiliated health research institutes and, for this reason, typically retain a portion of the grant generated by the affiliate’s research;
  • a rationale for the agreed-upon distribution of funds. This is especially critical in agreements where the applicant institution has negotiated a different sharing arrangement with each of its various affiliates;
  • how the affiliate’s portion of the grant will be calculated and the proportion of that amount that the affiliate will receive.

Institution responsibilities related to affiliates

Institutions with affiliates must:

  • identify the location of researchers for the purpose of calculating the portion of the grant attributable to the affiliate;
  • fulfill reporting requirements, including producing a timeline for the submission of information by the affiliate to the grantee for the annual grant application, outcomes report and statement of account;
  • meet agreed-upon timelines to transfer funds from the applicant institution to the affiliate;
  • meet conditions for funding (e.g., eligible expenditures); and
  • determine how long the agreement will remain in effect and the conditions under which it may be modified.

Your institution must ensure that its affiliates understand and follow the program’s conditions for funding as outlined in this guide (e.g., eligible expenditures).


Top

Use of grant funds

Duration 

Grants are awarded for one year only. Your institution must submit an RSF application (and IPG application, if applicable) each year to continue receiving funds.

Your institution must spend its grant during the fiscal year in which it was awarded.

Value 

TIPS calculates the value of your institution’s grant based on the amount of funding received by its researchers from the three federal research funding agencies (CIHR, NSERC and SSHRC) in the three most recent years for which data are available and according to the RSF’s budget for that year.

Payment schedule 

Grants are paid to institutions according to the program’s payment schedule.

Over-expenditures 

Your institution is solely responsible for funding expenditures or commitments that exceed grant funds applied to the account at your institution for current and prior fiscal periods.

Outstanding commitments 

Outstanding commitments are allowed only if the expenditure has been incurred but the invoice was not paid in the period ending March 31. However, these expenses must be paid by the end of June.

The annual statement of account must list any outstanding commitments.

Residual/unspent balances 

Your institution cannot transfer unspent balances to its general research fund or carry forward balances to the next fiscal year.

Returning unspent funds

Your institution must contact TIPS by email at information@rsf-fsr.gc.ca before the annual reporting deadline to receive full details on the process to prepare and return the unspent balance of the grant. A cheque for the unspent amount, made payable to the Receiver General for Canada, should be mailed to:

Research Support Fund
c/o Tri-agency Institutional Programs Secretariat
350 Albert St.
P.O. Box 1610
Ottawa, ON
K1P 6G4


Top

Recordkeeping

Your institution must submit annual outcomes reports and annual statements of account every year in order to report on the use and impact of the grant at your institution. These reports require supporting documentation for how grant funds were spent.

Supporting documentation

Your institution must keep complete and accurate records on the use of program funding, including verifiable audit trails with complete supporting documentation for each transaction, for a minimum of seven years.

Your institution must retain documentation to support the allocation method and rationale and for all expenditures charged to the grant account. Such documentation includes:

  • a full breakdown of the allocation of grants within the institution (and affiliated organizations) and the total expenditures by category allocated, which must reconcile to the institution’s total grant amount;
  • internal expense allocation method and rationale;
  • documentation of approval of allocation method and rationale by institutional authorities (e.g., minutes of meetings where approved, or signed authorization document);
  • signed records regarding personnel paid from grant funds, including names, categories, salary levels, affiliation to the objectives of the RSF and length of time supported in each case, details of employee benefits charged, and relevant calculations; and
  • supplier invoices indicating details of purchases and prices paid.

Top

Signatures

All of your institution’s claims must have the institutional representative’s or delegate’s signature. The signatures certify that:

  • all expenditures on the claim are for the purpose for which the grant was awarded;
  • all expenditures on the claim are eligible expenses;
  • all goods and/or services have been received;
  • the charges included have not been claimed for reimbursement from other sources; and
  • reimbursements for expenditures received from other sources or institutions have been disclosed to the administering institution.

Top

Research support costs related to federal research funding programs

Institutions cannot use their grant to pay for the research support costs related to federal tri-agency research funding programs where the grant or award already includes funding to cover the indirect costs of the research (e.g., the Canada Research Chairs Program, the Canada Excellence Research Chairs program, the College and Community Innovation Program, the Canada First Research Excellence Fund, the Canada 150 Research Chairs, and the New Frontiers in Research Fund). These programs allow institutions to use a reasonable portion of the funding to contribute toward the research support costs of the research.


Top

Expenditure categories

Funds must be used for the payment of current expenditures attributed to federally sponsored research that fall within the five categories.

The IPG stream provides eligible institutions with additional support for projects that focus on a set of priority areas that cut across the RSF’s existing categories of eligible expenses.


Top

Questions

If you have questions about the administration of RSF grants, please contact information@rsf-fsr.gc.ca.

Guide d’administration financière


On décrit dans le présent guide les modalités d’administration des sommes versées dans le cadre du Fonds de soutien à la recherche (FSR), y compris les subventions de projet supplémentaires (SPS).

Sur cette page



Top

Personnes-ressources de l’établissement

Le Secrétariat des programmes interorganismes à l’intention des établissements (le Secrétariat) tient les établissements à jour en transmettant de l’information et des nouvelles sur le programme aux personnes-ressources officielles inscrites dans le portail Convergence des établissements. Pour modifier, dans ce portail, la liste des personnes-ressources officielles de son établissement en ce qui touche le FSR, le haut fonctionnaire peut envoyer sa demande à information@rsf-fsr.gc.ca, en indiquant le nom complet de la personne, son titre de poste, son adresse courriel et le rôle qu’il souhaite lui attribuer (haut fonctionnaire ou délégué dans le cadre du FSR). Il incombe à l’établissement de s’assurer que les coordonnées sont à jour et complètes.


Top

Responsabilités et obligation de rendre compte

Les subventions du FSR sont attribuées aux établissements admissibles afin de couvrir une partie des coûts indirects engagés pour soutenir la recherche financée par le gouvernement fédéral. Ce sont des coûts que les établissements engagent et qui ne sont pas attribuables à des projets de recherche particuliers, notamment les coûts administratifs centraux et départementaux. On trouvera plus de précisions sur les coûts directs de la recherche dans le Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes.

Votre établissement doit utiliser la subvention aux fins pour lesquelles celle-ci a été attribuée et conformément à ses propres politiques et lignes directrices ainsi qu’à celles du programme.

Les fonds doivent être dépensés de manière efficace et judicieuse, et les dépenses s’avérer essentielles à la recherche financée par le gouvernement fédéral au sein de l’établissement.

Les subventions du programme doivent s’ajouter, et non se substituer, aux autres fonds à l’appui de la recherche que votre établissement a reçus du gouvernement provincial, du secteur privé ou d’autres sources du gouvernement fédéral.

Les subventions peuvent être utilisées pour assumer de nouvelles dépenses, pour maintenir le niveau actuel de services et de soutien au milieu de la recherche de l’établissement et pour apporter des améliorations, réaliser des économies et favoriser l’innovation dans la gestion.

Le Secrétariat et le Fonds de soutien à la recherche

Le Secrétariat vérifie l’admissibilité de votre établissement et vérifie que ce dernier a le droit d’obtenir la subvention en question, conformément aux lois et politiques fédérales régissant les subventions.

  • Le Secrétariat effectue des versements par l’entremise de la Division des finances du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH).
  • Tous les versements sont assujettis aux crédits parlementaires et aux conditions qui s’y rapportent. Les trois organismes de financement de la recherche (les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada [IRSC], le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie [CRSNG] et le CRSH) et le FSR se réservent le droit de reporter ou de suspendre les versements subséquents si les crédits parlementaires sont réduits ou annulés.

L’établissement

La subvention est administrée par l’entremise de votre établissement selon les modalités de l’Entente sur l’administration des subventions et des bourses des organismes par les établissements de recherche.

  • Votre établissement doit mettre en place des procédures, des systèmes et des contrôles appropriés pour s’assurer que les politiques et les exigences du programme sont respectées. Les procédures administratives et celles concernant le personnel et la comptabilité doivent se conformer aux normes, aux pratiques et aux politiques de l’établissement.
  • Si la situation s’y prête, votre établissement devrait obtenir des conseils ou demander une décision du Secrétariat quant à l’admissibilité des dépenses.
  • Le titulaire de la subvention, qui est normalement le responsable ou le recteur de l’établissement, autorise les dépenses à partir du compte de la subvention conformément aux lignes directrices du programme. Il peut déléguer l’autorisation des dépenses à quelques personnes.
  • L’établissement doit ouvrir un compte séparé pour la subvention et doit clairement consigner tous les versements au compte ou à partir de celui-ci et regrouper ces versements selon les cinq catégories de dépenses.

Votre établissement doit autoriser les dépenses selon les politiques et les exigences du programme, comme le décrit le présent guide. Nul ne peut effectuer ni autoriser des dépenses à partir du compte de la subvention sans avoir obtenu l’autorisation de l’établissement.


Top

Admissibilité continue

Pour se conformer à la politique gouvernementale, le programme du FSR doit, chaque année, vérifier l’admissibilité de votre établissement avant de lui verser de nouveaux fonds de subvention. Votre établissement doit confirmer son admissibilité à l’étape de la présentation de sa demande de subvention.


Top

Surveillance financière des comptes

Des représentants des organismes fédéraux de financement de la recherche (IRSC, CRSNG et CRSH) et du Secrétariat examinent périodiquement l’administration financière de votre établissement pour :

  • évaluer si l’établissement dispose des outils financiers et administratifs nécessaires à une gestion judicieuse et efficace de sa subvention;
  • examiner l’efficacité des procédures, des systèmes et des contrôles de l’établissement afin de s’assurer que les politiques et les exigences de l’organisme et du programme sont respectées et que les fonds du programme sont bien gérés;
  • examiner les dépenses du compte afin de s’assurer qu’elles sont conformes aux politiques et aux exigences établies et qu’elles sont faites à bon escient (les établissements doivent être prêts à présenter la documentation justificative pour l’ensemble des dépenses imputées à la subvention);
  • échanger et diffuser l’information sur les politiques, les exigences et les attentes afin d’assurer la responsabilisation financière.

Top

Non-respect

Les titulaires de subvention (et leurs organismes affiliés) sont responsables d’affecter les fonds de la subvention selon les politiques des organismes (IRSC, CRSNG et CRSH), y compris le présent guide, et de fournir de l’information juste, complète et précise sur la documentation des dépenses tirées du compte de la subvention.

Les actes suivants sont réputés des violations de ces politiques :

  • utiliser des fonds de la subvention à des fins qui ne sont pas conformes aux politiques des organismes subventionnaires;
  • détourner des fonds de la subvention;
  • enfreindre les politiques financières des organismes subventionnaires (du présent guide);
  • fournir de l’information incomplète, inexacte ou fausse sur la documentation des dépenses tirées du compte de la subvention.

Pour savoir comment les organismes subventionnaires gèrent les allégations de violation des politiques, veuillez consulter le Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche (article 6.1). Selon ces organismes, constitue une inconduite toute action qui n’est pas conforme aux principes d’intégrité et d’éthique tels que ceux-ci sont définis dans ce cadre de référence.

Les cas de mauvaise gestion des finances, là où il y a des preuves de fraude ou d’autres activités illicites, sont confiés aux autorités concernées conformément à la Directive sur la gestion des fonds publics et des comptes débiteurs du Conseil du Trésor.


Top

Suspension ou annulation d’une subvention

Le Comité directeur du Secrétariat se réserve le droit de suspendre ou d’annuler une subvention si l’établissement ne répond plus aux critères d’admissibilité ou aux exigences du programme en matière de responsabilisation, de mention publique du soutien obtenu ou de rapports. Il se réserve également le droit de recouvrer les sommes versées à un établissement si celui-ci a cessé de répondre aux critères d’admissibilité ou s’il s’avère que le financement a été versé sur la foi de renseignements frauduleux ou inexacts.


Top

Mention publique du soutien obtenu

Il existe différentes exigences relativement à l'obligation de rendre compte et à la mention publique du soutien obtenu pour les établissements jouissant d’un soutien dans le cadre du FSR, dont des subventions de projet supplémentaires. Ces exigences varient selon le montant de la subvention reçue. Votre établissement doit s’assurer de répondre aux exigences applicables pendant les trois étapes du cycle de vie du programme : la demande de subvention, la période de subvention et la fin de la période de subvention. Il est tenu d’afficher l’information relative à la responsabilisation et à la mention publique du soutien obtenu dans le cadre du Fonds (par exercice) sur son ou ses sites Web pendant au moins cinq ans. Le détail de ces obligations se trouve sur la page Responsabilisation et mention publique du soutien obtenu.

Tout défaut de se conformer à ces exigences entraînera la récupération des fonds ou l’arrêt des versements. Le non-respect des exigences pourrait également nuire à l’admissibilité d’un établissement à une subvention du FSR ou à des subventions de projet supplémentaires dans les années à venir. Votre établissement doit continuer de se conformer aux exigences en matière de responsabilisation et de mention publique du soutien obtenu du programme pendant toute la période de subvention pour conserver son admissibilité au programme.


Top

Rapports à produire

Chaque année, votre établissement doit soumettre un rapport sur les résultats afin d’expliquer comment il a dépensé les fonds reçus et géré sa subvention.

Le Secrétariat suspendra le versement des fonds aux établissements qui ne soumettent pas les rapports exigés. Si votre établissement ne répond pas à cette exigence, il sera non admissible au programme l’année suivante.


Top

Ententes avec les organismes affiliés

Il existe deux types d’organismes affiliés aux fins du FSR : ceux du domaine de la santé et ceux des autres domaines. Les établissements doivent avoir conclu des ententes officielles et valides avec chacun des instituts de recherche en santé qui leur sont affiliés. Pour les autres types, l’établissement demandeur et l’organisme affilié peuvent choisir de conclure ou non une entente officielle. Quoi qu’il en soit, l’établissement demandeur (le titulaire de la subvention) doit conclure une entente officielle avant de transférer des fonds à un organisme affilié.

N.B. : Le Secrétariat se réserve le droit de demander une copie de ces ententes à tout moment

Contenu des ententes avec les organismes affiliés

À tout le moins, les ententes doivent comprendre ce qui suit :

  • une indication de la nature de la relation entre l’établissement demandeur et l’organisme affilié – l’établissement demandeur fournit souvent divers services de soutien aux chercheurs travaillant dans les instituts de recherche en santé affiliés et, pour cette raison, il conserve en général une partie de la subvention associée à la recherche de l’organisme affilié;
  • une justification de la répartition convenue des fonds. C’est particulièrement important dans les cas où l’établissement demandeur a négocié une entente de partage différente avec chacun de ses organismes affiliés;
  • une explication de la manière dont la part de la subvention qui revient à l’organisme affilié sera calculée et une indication de la proportion de la subvention que recevra l’organisme affilié.

Responsabilités de l’établissement demandeur liées aux organismes affiliés

Les établissements ayant des organismes affiliés doivent :

  • déterminer l’emplacement des chercheurs afin de calculer la part de la subvention qui est attribuable à l’organisme affilié;
  • satisfaire aux exigences en matière de rapports, y  compris produire un échéancier pour la soumission de l’information par l’organisme affilié au titulaire de la subvention aux fins de la demande annuelle de subvention, du rapport sur les résultats et de l’état des dépenses;
  • respecter les délais relatifs au transfert de fonds de l’établissement demandeur à l’organisme affilié;
  • répondre aux conditions de financement (p. ex. les dépenses admissibles);
  • établir pendant combien de temps l’entente demeure en vigueur et quelles sont les conditions en vertu desquelles elle peut être modifiée.

Votre établissement est responsable de veiller à ce que ses organismes affiliés comprennent et respectent les conditions de financement du programme, telles qu’on les décrit dans ce guide (p. ex. les dépenses admissibles).


Top

Utilisation des fonds de la subvention

Durée

Les subventions ne sont attribuées que pour un an. Votre établissement doit faire une nouvelle demande au FSR (et de subventions de projet supplémentaires, au besoin) chaque année pour continuer à recevoir du financement.

Il doit dépenser les fonds pendant l’année pour laquelle ils ont été attribués.

Valeur

Le Secrétariat calcule la valeur de la subvention de chacun des établissements selon le financement que les chercheurs de l’établissement ont reçu des trois organismes fédéraux subventionnaires – les IRSC, le CRSNG et le CRSH – au cours des trois années les plus récentes pour lesquelles il existe des données et en fonction du budget du FSR pour l’année en question.

Calendrier des versements

Les subventions sont versées aux établissements selon le calendrier des versements du programme.

Dépenses excédentaires

C’est uniquement à votre établissement que sont imputables les dépenses ou des engagements qui dépassent les fonds versés à son compte pour les périodes financières actuelles et antérieures.

Engagements en cours

Les engagements en cours ne sont admissibles que si les dépenses ont été engagées, sans que les factures ne soient réglées, au cours de la période se terminant le 31 mars. Ces dépenses doivent toutefois être acquittées au plus tard à la fin du mois de juin.

L’état des dépenses annuel doit contenir la liste des engagements en cours.

Fonds résiduels ou non utilisés

Les fonds non utilisés ne peuvent pas être transférés au fonds général de la recherche de votre établissement ni reportés à l’exercice financier suivant.

Remise des fonds non utilisés

Votre établissement doit communiquer avec le Secrétariat par courriel à information@rsf-fsr.gc.ca avant la date limite fixée pour la transmission du rapport annuel afin de savoir comment préparer et remettre les fonds non utilisés. Il doit faire parvenir un chèque du montant des fonds non utilisés libellé à l’ordre du Receveur général du Canada à l’adresse suivante :

Fonds de soutien à la recherche
À l’attention du Secrétariat des programmes interorganismes à l’intention des établissements
350, rue Albert
C.P. 1610
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 6G4


Top

Tenue de dossiers

Chaque année, votre établissement doit présenter un rapport sur les résultats annuel et des états des dépenses annuels afin de faire état de l’utilisation et de l’impact de la subvention qui lui a été versée dans le cadre du FSR. Ces rapports doivent être accompagnés de documents expliquant comment les fonds ont été dépensés.

Documentation justificative

Votre établissement doit tenir des dossiers exhaustifs et précis concernant l’utilisation des fonds du programme, y compris des pistes de vérification pouvant être confirmées et une documentation complète à l’appui de chacune des transactions, et ce pendant au moins sept ans.

Il faut conserver la documentation à l’appui de la méthode d’attribution et de la justification ainsi que de l’ensemble des dépenses imputées au compte de la subvention. Cette documentation comprend ce qui suit :

  • une ventilation complète de l’affection des fonds de la subvention au sein de l’établissement (et des organismes affiliés) et les dépenses totales par catégorie, sommes qui doivent correspondre à la valeur totale de la subvention attribuée à l’établissement;
  • la méthode d’affection des fonds à l’interne et une justification;
  • la documentation concernant l’approbation de la méthode d’affection et de la justification par les autorités de l’établissement (p. ex. le compte rendu des réunions où le tout a été approuvé ou le document d’autorisation signé);
  • les dossiers signés au sujet du personnel rémunéré grâce aux fonds de la subvention indiquant les noms, les catégories, les niveaux de salaire et le lien avec les objectifs du FSR ainsi que la durée du soutien dans chacun des cas, le détail des avantages sociaux des employés et les calculs pertinents;
  • les factures des fournisseurs détaillant les achats et les prix payés.

Top

Signatures

Toutes les demandes de remboursement de votre établissement doivent porter la signature du représentant ou du participant de l’établissement, qui confirme que :

  • toutes les dépenses dont le remboursement est demandé ont été engagées aux fins pour lesquelles la subvention a été attribuée;
  • toutes ces dépenses sont des dépenses admissibles;
  • tous les biens ou les services ont été reçus;
  • les dépenses comprises n’ont pas fait l’objet d’une demande de remboursement auprès d’une autre source;
  • tous les remboursements de dépenses reçus d’autres sources ou d’autres établissements ont été indiqués à l’établissement chargé de l’administration.

Top

Coûts inhérents au soutien à la recherche liés à d’autres programmes de financement fédéraux

Les établissements ne peuvent pas utiliser leur subvention pour assumer les coûts inhérents au soutien à la recherche liés à d’autres programmes de financement des trois organismes fédéraux si une subvention ou une bourse couvre déjà les coûts indirects de la recherche (Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada, Programme des chaires d’excellence en recherche du Canada, Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté, Fonds d’excellence en recherche Apogée Canada, Chaires de recherche Canada 150, fonds Nouvelles frontières en recherche). Ces programmes permettent aux établissements d’utiliser une part raisonnable du financement afin d’assumer les coûts liés au soutien à la recherche.


Top

Catégories de dépenses

Les fonds doivent servir à couvrir des dépenses courantes liées à des travaux de recherche financés par le gouvernement fédéral et relevant des cinq catégories.

Les subventions de projet supplémentaires offrent aux établissements admissibles un soutien additionnel pour les projets qui s’inscrivent dans certains domaines prioritaires recoupant les catégories existantes de dépenses admissibles du FSR.


Top

Questions

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de l’administration des subventions du FSR, veuillez écrire à information@rsf-fsr.gc.ca.